Summer movies

July 12, 2007 at 12:13 am | Posted in Harry Potter, Movies | Leave a comment

Transformers kicked ass.  Seriously, I loved it.  Shia LaBoeuf is the next Tom Hanks (and I didn’t steal that from Vanity Fair.  I’ve been saying it for a year now.  I swear.)  Also, really enjoyed Rescue Dawn, with Christian Bale and Steve Zahn.  It’s a simple, well-told escape story set in Vietnam, and the two lead performances are definitely Oscar-worthy, particularly Zahn.  Ratatoille was a cute story, and the animation was beautiful.

Finally, just got back from seeing Harry Potter: The Order of the Phoenix.  IT ROCKED SO HARD.  Of course, I’m a big fan of the books, so I can’t really speak to whether it stood on its own as a movie.  But as a companion to the book, I think it completely succeeded.  I didn’t mind any of the story changes, and Daniel Radcliffe’s acting is quite strong now.  I was really worried about Emma Watson — last movie, she kept overacting and twitching her eyebrows.  She kept it up in the initial scenes, but afterwards really toned it down and got a lot more natural.  Such a relief.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

