Lost, argh

March 30, 2007 at 12:34 pm | Posted in Lost, TV News | 5 Comments

I’ve got a love-hate thing with Lost, and lately it’s more hate than love. The Locke episode was cool, sure. I know a lot of people liked the Nikki/Paolo episode, but it kind of annoyed me. For one thing, the creators basically admitted they were written off the show due to bad viewer response. That’s so irritating — I want to watch a show with a clear direction and creative vision, not one that’s swayed by the whims of the masses. Did they not read the Federalist Papers?  If we don’t like the characters, make us like them!  It’s not that hard; give them a few funny lines or have them do something useful.

While I’m pointing fingers, I’d like to point another at Harold Perrineau, who is refusing to come back for the season finale. Dude, that’s fucked up. I understand he’s probably mad about being written off, but c’mon, he can’t take a week and go to Hawaii? He owes it to the show. It made him famous, and the fans deserve a follow-up to his storyline. Think about it: how cool would it be if we saw Walt and Michael living in New York, refusing to think about the past or talk about the time they spent on the island, just trying to live normally, but unable to forget? And then Desmond’s girlfriend Penny shows up at their door, somehow tracking them down? That would be an AWESOME cliffhanger, and now we’re not going to get to see it. Damn that Perrineau.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Two Things – What did you think of tongue-in-cheek look at guest-stars and TV shows in general? (http://www.ew.com/ew/article/0,,20016318,00.html) I think that basically the Nikki/Paolo backstory was about as unrealistic as Expose, and I felt like they were poking fun at that a little.

    Secondly, how about a little Faith Spilly? There will be payoff in the end. Oh yes. There will be payoff in the end. 🙂

  2. I’ll admit it, I’m a cynic. It’s because I watched Alias for four solid years, and I know J.J. Abrams cannot be trusted. He did this stuff constantly — introduced a character, hinted at a deep backstory, and then dropped the plotline completely, leaving tons of questions and loose ends. And the payoff was crap! These Lindelof and Cuse guys have not earned my trust yet, so I remain skeptical.

  3. And as for the actual wink-wink part of the episode, eh … it left me cold. Like, I thought the jokes were cute and funny, but I would have rather had Nikki and Paolo do something heroic to earn their trust, or have a weird flashback connection to someone, that kinda thing. What if Nikki started hooking up with Sawyer? That would’ve been good. But anyway, the whole episode felt like a “hey, we messed up putting these guys on the show, we apologize, so here are some jokes.” And that just pisses me off. I don’t want an apology, I want a good story! So just figure one out already! Grr.
    It’s irritating because they JUST did this with Ana Lucia and Libby — introduced them, didn’t know what to do with them, and killed them. The writers admitted that they had to kill off Ana Lucia early because viewers hated her, and then had to kill Libby too so viewers would feel the impact. I just want them to come up with a plan and stick to it, not change their minds halfway through.

  4. Your frustartion with Mr. Perrineau is not only unwarranted, but annoying. You have no idea what the producers did to Mr. Perrineau or his family for that matter. When a man will turn down over 2 million dollars, for another show that will not pay him even close to that, they must have burned him pretty bad. Kudos to Harold for standing up for the right thing.

  5. You’re entitled to your opinion, and I’m sticking with mine. Obviously he can do whatever he wants, but by not returning, the show’s plot will have to be changed, and I think that does the fans a disservice.
    Maybe I am being a little hypocritical. When Michael Vartan got written off Alias, I was furious, and I wouldn’t have blamed him if he’d refused to return. But the story would have suffered, unquestionably. I think the difference is that Lost still has lots of potential, and Alias was creatively over at that point. Even if there’s some big reason that justifies Perrineau’s refusal to come back, now we’ll never get to see what happened to Michael and Walt. And that sucks.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

