Bad, bad, bad movie accents

March 23, 2007 at 4:27 pm | Posted in Movies | Leave a comment

ScreenGrab presents the Top Ten Worst Accents in Movie History (via Defamer).

Bad accents are by far my biggest film pet peeve, so I’ve got a few additions to the list:

Andie MacDowell in Groundhog Day. Andie desperately tries to hide her Southern drawl behind a cloak of bad acting, but the jig’s up when she says “believe it or not, I studied nineteenth century French poerrtry.” Guess what, Andie: I don’t believe it.

Keanu Reeves in The Devil’s Advocate. Keanu also can’t do British (Much Ado About Nothing), but his Southern accent in this movie is so atrocious that it becomes sort of endearing. He’s trying so hard! Giving 110 percent! And it’s still awful! Awww.

Drew Barrymore in Ever After. Drew’s one of those actors that just is not capable of doing an accent (see Reeves, Keanu), but I forgive her most of the time. That being said, what the hell is going on in Ever After? For one thing, the movie is set in France, but everyone’s doing British accents. Except for Drew, who’s doing Deranged. She can’t pronounce the French names either, so it’s just a big ol’ mess.

Julianne Moore in An Ideal Husband. I can’t explain it, it just annoys me.

Brad Pitt in Interview with the Vampire. I guess I could fault Tom Cruise here, too, but I find Brad’s more irritating. Exceedingly mumbly. I also don’t like his hair.

Gary Oldman in The Fifth Element. Mr. Zorg’s accent is supposed to be Southern, I think. Brits tend to do Southern well (e.g. Jude Law in Cold Mountain), so perhaps Gary was just having a little fun with this role? Whatever he’s doing, it’s distractingly weird — and if his accent is the one thing I’m singling out as weird in a Luc Besson movie, then you know it’s totally off the reservation.

My picks for the best accents? Hank Azaria’s obviously the master; my faves are The Birdcage and America’s Sweethearts. Other so-offensive-they’re-good performances: Gedde Watanabe in Sixteen Candles (ohh sexy girrrrlfriend!) and Sacha Baron Cohen in Talledega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby. Cary Elwes (Twister, Kiss the Girls), Russell Crowe (The Insider), and Christian Bale (American Psycho, Batman Begins) are awesome at American accents.

Also, my pick for best intentionally bad accent: In Mickey Blue Eyes, Hugh Grant plays his typical British self but, after a series of wacky hijinks, has to pretend to be in the Mafia: “But what the hey? Me got it undew contwol. Fargettaboud it.” Must be heard to be believed.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

