The Oscars were totally lame

February 26, 2007 at 3:33 pm | Posted in Movies | Leave a comment

It is complete and total bullshit that Pan’s Labyrinth didn’t get nominated (and win) for Best Picture, so I am furious that it lost out for Best Foreign Language Film. Now, I haven’t actually seen whatever German movie won, but I’m standing by my opinion. I’ll Netflix it just to be sure, but come on. Maybe the Academy just didn’t get around to seeing it?

Also, I love Alan Arkin, but was a disappointed for Eddie Murphy — I mean, Arkin died halfway through his film.   Eddie made it almost until the end!  And, even though it seemed inevitable, I was a little disappointed Jennifer Hudson won. She was fantastic, I know, but better than those Babel chicks? Better than Cate Blanchett? I guess the Babel vote was split … I dunno, it just seems weird.

Anything else I can complain about? Oh yeah, the length. Why go to the trouble of shushing the winners and then use the saved time to show Michael Mann-directed montage about America? Nonsensical. Ellen did a good job, but when the show’s running long, cut the skits and the montages, please. Don’t take it out on the winners.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

