Ricky Bobby and the Lady in the Water

August 10, 2006 at 1:34 am | Posted in Movies | Leave a comment

I finally got around to seeing Talledega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby and The Lady in the Water — I was a little nervous about both, since each got mixed reviews. Surprisingly, I really enjoyed both. I think the deal with The Lady in the Water is that it’s a kid’s movie; suspenseful and well made, but just like the trailer says, it’s a bedtime story. I wonder if this movie will be a Labyrinth for the next generation, except, you know, without Muppets.

As for Ricky Bobby … loved it! I actually started crying with laughter when Gary Cole told one of Ricky’s kids, to watch his mouth “or I’ll throw you in a microwave!” Because I always have to criticize something, it’s a little long. To fix that, I’d have cut Amy Adams out of the movie. (Ricky’s mom could’ve delivered Amy’s motivational speech.) Sacha Baron Cohen and John C. Reilly are hilarious, too, but Gary Cole stole every scene he was in. I was actually really impressed with Sacha Baron Cohen — I didn’t love the first Ali G movie, but he holds his own against all the traditional comedic actors in this movie, and is the perfect foil for Ferrell.  Anyway, that’s enough of my sales pitch.  It comes down to this: if watching Will Ferrell doing his George W. impersonation for two hours (plus some car chases) appeals to you, you’ll probably like this movie, too.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

