Pirates, superheroes, and hateration

July 10, 2006 at 2:02 am | Posted in Movies | Leave a comment

So, Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest earned approximately $132 million this weekend, beating Spider-Man 2‘s record. I guess I liked the movie slightly better than the stupid Spider-Man sequel, but I would have loved it if it were 45 minutes shorter. Things I could have used less of: swordfights in gigantic spinning wheels, quaint King Kong-esque cannibal natives, worn-out references to rum, and Elizabeth Swann knowing how to sail and/or kick ass. Things I could have used more of: water. For a swashbuckling adventure on the high seas, it seemed rather land-locked. However, I still think that the third film could be wonderful, provided they spend a little more time in the editing room.

I also saw Superman Returns — again, it was too long. (I don’t mind long movies as a rule. I just appreciate a little economy of storytelling.) That being said, Brandon Routh rocked, Sam Huntington (another Veronica Mars alum) was an awesome Jimmy Olsen, and Kevin Spacey was fantastic. I didn’t buy Kate Bosworth as Lois Lane, though. She wasn’t bad, she just wasn’t … Lois Lane-y. Parker Posey would have made a much better Lois, so seeing her play Lex Luther’s moll was a little distracting.

And while I’m at it, I can’t resist saying just once more: X-Men 3 sucked hard.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

